My future is looking…Green

Since my arrival on Tuesday, I have increasingly been made aware of the significance of St. Patrick’s Day in Chicago. While I am not much of a drinker, I do admit that back home a pitcher of cheap, dyed green beer has always excited me. Green beer just seems tastier than it really is. Unfortunately this rule only applies to beer. Have you ever had green eggs? I have. And I will never forget it.

Gross.

My point is: this weekend is so much more than simple green beer. This holiday will be filled with thousands of wandering alcohol enthusiasts. Faithful to my new blog, I will have no choice but to observe and record all events that transpire. Wish me luck.

On a side note, my friend took me to a bar Wednesday night, Dylan’s Tavern and Grill,  that was already in preparation for St. Patty’s Day. Walking in, the hostess checked my friend’s ID and exclaimed that they shared a birthday. Then she looked at my ID and exclaimed that I shared a birthday with her best friend. She was either very friendly or a compulsive liar.

bar

The energy of the building was great. It was busy, but mellow at the same time. I’m quickly learning that people in Chicago really enjoy drinking. The place was set up full of St. Patty’s day decorations. We sat over at the bar since we had both already stuffed our faces earlier that day, and the bartender was very attentive.  We each ordered a beer, relaxed, chatted and called it a night.

photo

4 thoughts on “My future is looking…Green”

  1. It’s interesting to see how different cities celebrate holidays. In Boston, St. Patrick’s Day is an explosive celebration. Some say it’s because of the number of Irish that live in the state. I say it’s because of the cheap green beer. You really can’t beat it 🙂

  2. Anytime there is an Irish holiday, there will be drinking from the masses! Going to shamrockin’ in Ghent tonight, wish you were here to join 😦 Cheers with green beers for all!

Leave a Reply

